UN and L’Oreal announce winners of women in science award

“The United Nations and the cosmetics giant L’Oreal announced today the five women scientists who will receive their joint award for their advances in scientific research.
The award, which is given out each year by the UN Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) and L’Oreal, honours five women from different regions of the world who are selected by an independent jury made up of eminent members of the global scientific community.

This year’s winners are: Jill Farrant from South Africa, Ingrid Scheffer from Australia, Frances Ashcroft from the United Kingdom, Susana López from Mexico, and Bonnie Bassler from the United States.
Each laureate will receive $100,000 in recognition for their contribution to the advancement of science.”

Read the full article

Tags: , , , , , , , ,