L’Oréal-UNESCO For Women in Science International Awards

Created in 1998, the International Awards L’Oréal-UNESCO For Women in Science honours – every year –  5 eminent women scientists from 5 regions of the world.

Each year, five Laureates are recognized for their contributions to the advancement of science, in Life Sciences or Physical Sciences, Mathematics and Computer Science in alternating years.


For women in Science Award


The 2021 edition of the Awards will designate five outstanding scientific researchers in the field of Physical Sciences, Mathematics and Computer Science, working in the following regions:
– Africa & the Arab States
– Asia and the Pacific
– Europe
– Latin America and the Caribbean
– North America
One candidate will be selected for each of the five regions, the determining factor being the place of work for at least 5 years, not the nationality of the candidate.


Scientists around the world are invited to nominate candidates for the L’Oréal-UNESCO For Women in Science Awards.

To be considered eligible for an award, it is necessary to be nominated in writing by an eminent scientist. Self-nominations are not eligible, nor nominations from immediate family members. Teams are not eligible for nomination.


April 20th, 2020 – Next call for nomination

May 31st, 2020 –  Deadline

March 2021 – Ceremony



More information here

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,