European Commission



The European Commission is the politically independent institution that represents and upholds the interests of the European Union as a whole. It proposes legislation, policies and programmes of action and it is responsible for implementing the decisions of the European Parliament and the Council.

The Commission is appointed for a five-year term by the Council acting by qualified majority in agreement with the Member States. It is subject to a vote of appointment by the European Parliament, to which it is answerable.

The Commissioners are assisted by an administration made up of Directorates-General (DGs) and specialised departments whose staff are divided mainly between Brussels and Luxembourg.

More information


Tags: , , , , ,