Executive Committee

Startup Stock Photos


Dr. Brigitte Mühlenbruch
President of EPWS, Former Managing Director of the Center of Excellence Women and Science CEWS, Bonn (Germany)

Brigitte Mühlenbruch was the first Vice President of the European Platform of Women Scientists EPWS in Brussels, member of the European Commission’s Network of Women in Decision Making in Politics and the Economy, and Vice President of the Christiane Nüsslein-Volhard-Foundation in Germany.
Read more


Prof. Claudine Hermann
Vice-President of EPWS, Ecole Polytechnique, Paris (France)

Claudine Hermann was Professor of Physics at the Ecole Polytechnique, the most renowned French engineering school. Her research domain is optics of solids. She is alumna of Ecole Normale Supérieure de Jeunes Filles and her PhD (1976) is in solid state physics. She was the first woman ever appointed Professor at Ecole Polytechnique in 1992.
Read more


Dr. Maren A. Jochimsen
Treasurer of EPWS, Network Caring Economy, Germany

Maren A. Jochimsen holds a Doctorate in Ecological Economics from the University of St. Gallen, Switzerland, and is co-founder of Netzwerk Vorsorgendes Wirtschaften (Network Caring Economy). Before joining the University of Duisburg-Essen, Germany, as Managing Director of the Essen College of Gender Research (EKfG), a central research institute of the University, in 2010, Maren A. Jochimsen was Secretary General of the European Platform of Women Scientists EPWS in Brussels (2005-2009). Since 2009 she has been supporting the Platform on a voluntary basis.
Read more