Board of Administration


Prof. Myriam Boussahba-Bravard
Mnemosyne association, France
British and American studies school, Université Paris Diderot, France

Myriam Boussahba-Bravard is a member of the executive board of the French association Mnemosyne whose objective is to promote the history of women and gender both in research and in teaching while expressing views on the institutional management of secondary and higher education. Myriam’s brief is more particularly to develop international relations for Mnemosyne.
Read more

Dr. Maria João Marcelo Curto
Treasurer of EPWS

Maria João is a senior research chemist at LNEG – National Laboratory of Energy and Geology, a government laboratory created in 2009 over LNETI, a multidisciplinary research laboratory where she had worked since 1983 after the completion of her PhD in Chemistry (Imperial College, London 1976) and a period as researcher at the Gulbenkian Foundation Science Laboratories. Her research domain lies in the area of Chemistry, namely in natural products, organic and analytical chemistry.
Read more

Fanni Szigeti
Association of Hungarian Women in Science, Hungary

She has been working for the Association of Hungarian Women in Science since it’s establishment, 2008. She made her bachelor degree in business and management at Budapest University of Technology and Economics and defended her thesis on “Women in Science – focus on motivating girls to pursue careers in science, technology, engineering, and mathematics fields” in 2012. She is responsible for all administrative and financial tasks related to the organization.
Read more

Prof. Claudine Hermann
President of EPWS, Ecole Polytechnique, Paris (France)

Claudine Hermann was Professor of Physics at the Ecole Polytechnique, the most renowned French engineering school. Her research domain is optics of solids. She is alumna of Ecole Normale Supérieure de Jeunes Filles and her PhD (1976) is in solid state physics. She was the first woman ever appointed Professor at Ecole Polytechnique in 1992.
Read more

Dr. Maren A. Jochimsen
Vice-President of EPWS, Network Caring Economy, Germany

Maren A. Jochimsen holds a Doctorate in Ecological Economics from the University of St. Gallen, Switzerland, and is co-founder of Netzwerk Vorsorgendes Wirtschaften (Network Caring Economy). Before joining the University of Duisburg-Essen, Germany, as Managing Director of the Essen College of Gender Research (EKfG), a central research institute of the University, in 2010, Maren A. Jochimsen was Secretary General of the European Platform of Women Scientists EPWS in Brussels (2005-2009). Since 2009 she has been supporting the Platform on a voluntary basis.
Read more

Dr. Lucia Martinelli
Italian Association of Women Scientists, Italy

Dr. Lucia Martinelli has participated since 1995 in the activities of the ‘Coordinamento Nazionale Donne e Scienza’ which later became the Italian Association of Women Scientists. At an institutional level, she was involved for 12 years in the activities of the Commission for the Equal Opportunities of the Autonomous Province of Trento, twice in the role of the elected President: she coordinated interventions –in the regulation framework too – on gender equality for strengthening civil society structures and empowerment, also in the area of research and gender equality, and participated as a speaker and organizer to public conferences and various media interventions.
Read more

Dr. Yvonne Pourrat
ECEPIE, France

Dr. Yvonne Pourrat is graduated in Agronomy Engineering and obtained her Doctorate in Plant Physiology (University of Paris VI). She worked in CNRS and at the University of Paris XI (Orsay) as scientific researcher specialist in physiology and biotechnology of plants under abiotic stress. She has numerous publications in this field. She serves as expert for international institutions: IICA, UNESCO and EC. She has coordinated EU projects (4th , 5th, 6th and 7th Framework Programmes -FP) and international networks.
Read more

Dr. Yasmin Robson
Daphnet, United Kingdom

Dr. Yasmin Robson graduated in Mathematics in 1977, then went on to a studentship at The Royal Greenwich Observatory at Herstmonceux Castle. She completed her Ph.D. in Radio Astronomy in 1983 at the University of Manchester, Jodrell Bank, observing neutral Hydrogen in nearby galaxies, investigating group dynamics, stability and missing mass. During a career break to raise 3 sons, Yasmin was an Associate Lecturer in ‘Astronomy & Planetary Science’ with the Open University. She returned to research in Astrophysics with a Daphne Jackson Fellowship at the University of Oxford, and then took up a Research Fellowship at the University of Cambridge working on the Design & Development of the ALMA Telescope, an international collaboration.
Read more

Prof. Dalia Šatkovskienė
Vilnius University (Lithuania)

Assoc. Prof. Dr. Dalia Šatkovskienė is a Physicist. She graduated from the Department of Elementary Particles of the Moscow State University. After joining the Faculty of Physics at Vilnius University in 1973, she changed of research domain and is now an internationally-known specialist in Quantum Mechanics of molecules. Prof. D. Šatkovskienė has more than 130 scientific publications and is the author of 4 textbooks in theoretical physics; she was invited and participated in many international conferences and meetings. Among other professional awards she received the American Physical Societies international Marshak award (2008).
Read more